Is this a legal way to tag-up and run faster?

Scenario:
With 1 out and a runner on third-base, the batter hits a sacrificial fly ball to right field, enabling the runner to head for home.

1 Answer
1

According to UmpiresMedia.com, getting a “head start” is considered illegal in professional baseball. Actually, it is listed in the rules you linked

Rule 5.09(c)(1) Comment (Rule 7.10(a) Comment): “Retouch,” in this
rule, means to tag up and start from a contact with the base after the
ball is caught. A runner is not permitted to take a flying start from
a position in back of his base.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.