If a play ends with two runners at the same base who is safe?

In baseball if a play ends and two base runners are at the same base who is safe and who is out? Does the situation change if one of the runners can be forced?

2 Answers
2

Technically the play cannot end with two runners on the same base.

If two runners are occupying the same base, then the trailing runner is considered “In Jeopardy”, or able to be tagged out, and must either retreat to the previous base or, if it is occupied, the leading runner must advance a base.

However, if the trailing runner was forced to the base then the leading runner is considered “In Jeopardy” and must advance or be tagged out.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.