How are race stewards selected in F1?

Aside from Charlie Whiting, the FIA Race Director, the race stewards who look at and deliberate on on-track incidents are apparently not the same every weekend.

2 Answers

As described in Formula 1, Rules & Regulations, Officials:

  • There are seven officials
  • Five of the seven are nominated by FIA. These include:
    • the race director (currently Charlie Whiting)
    • a permanent starter
    • three additional stewards
    • one is an experienced former driver
  • Two of the seven are nominated by the National Sporting Authority of the country hosting the race, both of which must be FIA Super License Holders
    • the clerk of the course
    • an additional steward who must be a national of the host nation

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.