Do corner kick takers get an assist for a scored goal?

Does the player who delivers a corner kick to the box get an assist if the ball is scored directly from the kick?

3 Answers
3

There are no specific rules for such statistics. In theory it may differ from league to league.

Even so, I’ve never seen any league do not counting pass from corner which leads to goal as a “goal assist”. I can’t find UEFA’s official laws of statistics, but this is quote from UEFA’s fantasy football rules and I’m sure this is a way which is used for official game statistics:

A player will be credited with a ‘goal assist’ when he delivers/plays
the final pass, cross, header or shot, which leads to the goal being
scored. This will also apply to set plays (i.e. corner, free kick,
throw-in etc.)

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.