Can I use my hand to hit the ball on table tennis?

I’ve read in somebody’s comment in another question:

1 Answer
1

Yes, you can use your hand to hit the ball, but only if it is your racket hand and below the wrist. A quote of the rules state:

It is considered legal to hit the ball with your fingers, or with your racket hand below the wrist, or even any part of the bat.(Law 2.5.7) This means that you could quite legally return the ball by:

  1. hitting it with the back of your racket hand;
  2. hitting it with the edge of the bat, instead of the rubber;
  3. hitting it with the handle of the bat.

A proviso includes – Your hand is only your racket hand if it is holding the racket, so this means you can’t drop your bat and then hit the ball with your hand, because your hand is no longer your racket hand

It is illegal to hit the ball with your free hand.

There is a good summary of the rules here.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published.